[ Updated threads · New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
Forum » [FHSW] Europe 0.611 Server: » Infos: » Passing the torch (r)
Passing the torch (r)
starking018Date: Sunday, 2016-11-20, 8:45 PM | Message # 41
Colonel
Group: Friends
Awards: 22
I'm sorry I didn't comment earlier.

eYe, thank you for all you've done for us throughout the years - you're one who has contributed to practically every aspect of the community that I can think of. So it's entirely understandable that you don't want to spend so much time on so many things.

I can offer some technical knowledge in installing, configuring, troubleshooting and maintaining a server (on a Windows OS). I can help with that and put enough time into it although I may need to learn a thing or two along the way.

For SSM I have no experience and not enough knowledge, but I understand the principle and I could learn this. However, as far as I know it's somewhat time consuming which I'm not very enthusiastic about.

If we decide to build and host a server at someone's home I can help with choosing appropriate components and with overclocking, which can improve server performance (mainly map loading time) beyond what most server hosting companies offer. So, to give you a sense of the benefits of this, while the companies normally offer servers with CPUs that can go up to 3.9-4.4GHz, with overclock we can reach maybe about 4.5-5.2GHz and the map loading times would go down proportionally. So, with a custom build and overclocking we could get perhaps about 15-20% more speed for hardware that costs about the same as what it costs to a hosting company, or get about the same speed from much cheaper hardware.